About the village
Corrie, the name is derived from the Gaelic “coire”, meaning a ravine, but this charming village, with its harbours and white washed cottages, is strung out along the coastal road beneath the raised beaches and against the cliffs where once the seas pounded. Above Corrie, by the path leading up to Goatfell is the charming clachan of High Corrie, a cluster of traditonal white washed cottages with magnificent views of mountain and sea. The earliest mention of a building in Corrie was in 1449, which was a rungrig farm, the ruins of which can still be seen on the brae above the modern house of “Tigh-an-Achaidh”. Corrie’s rich red sandstone, seen in buildings and on the rocky shore, was once quarried there, along with the less obvious white sandstone. These quarries, along with the limestone quarry provided work for the villagers and two of the limestone kilns remain to this day.
The Free Church was built in 1848 and the Corrie Parish Church in 1886. The Free Church was sold as a private residence in the 1990’s. The primary school was built in 1870 by the 11th Duke of Hamilton and the playground still swarms with children at playtime. A holiday in Arran should definitely include a ceilidh, which is a very informal, family orientated evening of dancing, music and song. Corrie Village Hall has been the scene of many a good ceilidh. The original hall was built from part of a fund raised during the Second World War to welcome soldiers back home. The present hall was built in 1969 and enlarged in 2000. One of the village curios is the Doctor’s bath. This is a bath carved into the sandstone rock on the shore by a Doctor McCredy, who stayed in “Cromla” at the time of Waterloo.
After the Second World War the first council houses were built at Corrie. Eventually, in the late 1960’s, Corrie Terrace, built of red sandstone for the quarry workers ,was demolished to make way for more council houses. Some of the original red sandstone from the Terrace has been incorporated into the present houses.
Corrie – A popular holiday village
Corrie has always been a popular holiday village, from the days when the visitors were deposited on the shore at Ferry Rock to the present when they usually arrive by car via the ferry into Brodick or Lochranza. Many of the pleasures remain the same, walking along the shores or into the mountains, fishing, bird watching , and entering into the spirit of the famous “Corrie Capers”, one of Arran’s summer events.
Sannox & Corrie are twin villages – they share a village hall, a golf course and lots of community spirit! Sannox is also home to the island’s cricket club. Look out for the seal on the rock at Corrie…